Trevenson Church HistoryHistory contributed by Joe Thomas
Among church papers examined some years ago was an undated handwritten note stating that the chapel was consecrated in the name of the Chapel of Illogan or Illogan Chapel although later, during the rebuilding of the Parish Church (see Parish Church history on this web site) it was referred to as the Chapel of Illogan or Chapel of Trevenson. The note also referred to it being known as Trevenson Church or Trevenson Chapel of Ease.
By a deed of 1809 Lord de Dunstanville covenanted for himself and his heirs to keep the chapel in repair. In time there arose a resistance from later Bassets to do so and payments ceased in 1915
The original windows were believed to be
unique in Cornwall and were possibly made
at the Penryn foundry.
They have vecently been replaced
with exact replicas, expertly made by the
Heritage Stained Glass of Kingskevswell
1890. The inside of the church has been decorated, perhaps for Harvest Festival. The pulpit appears not to be the one now in use